Surviving Life's Lessons

January 21, 2013

Life’s treasures . . .

Filed under: Grieving — mlarocque11 @ 4:27 pm

You never know what treasures you’ll find hidden in the random boxes in your basement.  I continued the never-ending task of emptying out my basement so I can one day get it finished.  Exploring the remaining boxes of sentimental tokens I’ve been saving I ran across a misplaced homemade Christmas ornament that had “2006” scribbled on the back, nothing else.  I recognized this as Sarah’s art work and eagerly dove into my past, a journey few of us dare take.  Sometimes it is painful but as I go through the remaining holiday boxes happy memories flood my mind of my girls looking for Easter eggs, proudly showing me what the tooth fairy left in exchange for their tooth, a Thanksgiving decoration they made in Girl Scouts out of a glove and feathers.  Those memories triggered even more exciting activities my girls and I shared.  Going deeper into my boxes I found an old photo albums that my mother made me.  She made one for each of us documenting the landmarks of our lifetime since we were born.  I find my mom and dad’s wedding album and gaze at the pictures of my mom, a stunning beauty on her wedding day confident, young and hopeful, and my dad looking more like a nervous young boy playing dress-up in his daddy’s suit than a young man marrying the love of his life.  Seeing their innocence I can only imagine how their life together started out, sharing so many firsts; I only know how it ended in 1978 when my dad passed away. 

Digging further into my box I found an old metal jewelry box that was once my godmother’s.  In it the first thing I saw was a tiny pink deck of cards with a picture of a Yorkie puppy on it.  I smiled as I remembered the card games I would play with my friends Lynn and Sue and how I would very carefully put them back in the box after each time.  I giggled to myself as I reached inside and retreivedr my old “Mood Ring”.  Sadly, it’s magic had faded over the years.  I found my dad’s Zippo lighter that I gave him on year for his birthday.  I remembered picking it out with my mom and wrapping it lovingly for him.  He was so happy when he opened it and gave me such a tight hug; I remembered wishing he’d never let me go.  Looking through the box I enjoy more loving memories of my childhood, my first English bulldog, Tony, one of my grandpa’s rosaries, my dad’s First Communion Bible that he gave me when I made my First Communion.

As I neared the middle of this box of memories I uncovered remnants of my teen years in old school yearbooks.  This particular collection was probably the most fascinating, looking at the pictures of all the young children who were once my classmates, my peers, my close friends.  Some of us were so close and we shared cherished secrets with each other, others were classmates of mine that had become a distant memory of this time lost.  I found all six of my yearbooks, documenting my life through what we called “Junior High” and high school.  Through social networking, I have been able to reconnect with so many friends from my childhood.   It’s been so exciting reuniting with them, sharing pictures of our children, news of our families, tears from our losses.  This box was a testament of a part of my lifetime that was once the most important period of time for me as a young women coming of age.  Our teen years played an integral role in forming us into the adults we would become.  What I thought was a mere memory was the discovery of new found new friendships and interests that I never believed possible.  I am grateful for these social networks and I hope to reconnect with more friends and family.

Finally, in the very bottom of the box was an American flag still in the same box it was shipped in from the Veteran’s Administration to my mom after the death of my father.  He was a veteran of the United States Air Force during the Korean War.  This article is one that probably gives me the most pride in my dad.  Even though he was required to register for one of the Armed Services he was proud of his Air Force service and serving his country.

We all have these boxes in our homes, taking us on journeys that bring back such a rush of emotion and memories while comforting and nurturing those feelings that we thought were buried forever.  Some things are meant to be saved, memorialized, revered.  They live in darkness protecting the secrets of our first love, old school projects and pictures, diaries of who we wished we could be; a valuable bounty that goes beyond wealth or riches, they are our life’s treasures.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Life’s treasures . . .. […]

    Pingback by Life’s treasures . . . « Surviving Life's Lessons — January 21, 2013 @ 4:35 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

